Skip to main content

Sumea Modeller Challenge #9

• This is/was my entry to the gameartisans.org kingdom hearts war mini comp, had alot of fun doing this model even with the delays and frustrations =( sculpting for a day, then not being able to get a normal map to work properly =( etc

but…

• This hopefully is a screen grab of my character entry

Submitted by kit11 on

hey all, im just new to this 3-D stuff, i recently finished a short course, which sebp was my teacher, this is my first attempt at making a person so get prepared for a decent laugh =)

anyway ill put up some scans of my concept soon, i have started the modelling so hopefully ill get it done by the finish date =)

Submitted by kit11 on Tue, 31/07/07 - 4:27 AM Permalink

ok heres some of the pics ive done, as u can see im not a fantastic drawer

but u get the general idea

oh and by the way im going for sort of an ares guy, lots of weapons to be carried around aswell =)

Submitted by Killa Dee on Tue, 31/07/07 - 5:23 AM Permalink

hey kit11, great start! i always find busting out some really small black and white quick thumbnail drawings in potato shop is a great way to start a character concept. It helps to quickly get some traction in moving your design forward.

Here is an example --> Character thumbnails

Keep up the good work!Killa Dee2007-07-30 19:25:27

Submitted by sebp on Tue, 31/07/07 - 10:15 AM Permalink

Hey kit,

Good to see that you still keen to give it a crack. The elements that you have got in the sketch are looking good. I’d try and combine them to form the whole figure. Killer d’s thumb nail link is has some great ideas on it too!

Submitted by kit11 on Mon, 06/08/07 - 8:49 AM Permalink

just an update ive started making the body, having a lil trouble getting a pic of a head to model from =( but heres the body so far

Submitted by benny s on Wed, 08/08/07 - 5:15 AM Permalink

looking really good for your first attempt at a character, mine first was far far worse